Whole30 Hot Dog Chili!

Is anyone cold? I swear, I have been cold for two weeks despite the fact that I live on the west coast. I am basically just a baby who cannot handle anything below 68 degrees.

There are so many options for this chili, that it really can appeal to almost everyone.

photo-2-4.jpg

I got this idea from the cookbook, Primal Cravings, but I have changed a quite a bit of the original recipe.  I love Trader Joe’s Salsa Verdi, so I threw that in instead of stewed tomatoes. There is tomato sauce in the recipe as well, so it has plenty of that tomato flavor, but not a lot of tomato chunks. This is SO easy to make, and my husband loves it leftover to take for lunches. Obviously, it is packed with a lot of protein, but I love the addition of the soft egg on top. It was a perfect!

Ingredients:

1.25 lbs ground beef

1 lb uncured hot dogs

1 jar Trader Joe’s Salsa Verde

1 1/3 cup tomato sauce

3 large cloves garlic

1 1/4 tsp ground cumin

1 4oz can chopped green chilis

optional:

avocado

sour cream

shredded cheese

jalapeños

fresh tomato

raw onion

scallions

mustard

relish

avocado

bacon

fried egg

sauerkraut

Method:

In a large pot or skillet, brown the beef and hot dogs. Add remaining ingredients and simmer for 15 minutes over medium heat. Top with any of the optional ingredients.

Pressure Cooker Method:

Brown the beef on the “browning” setting of the pressure cooker. Add hot dogs and garlic, and stir for a few minutes. Add remaining ingredients, stir.  Set the cooker to “high pressure” for 10 minutes.  That’s it!

 

Leave a comment