Potato Shakshuka

FullSizeRender-4.jpg

I have had shakshuka recipes on the blog in the past, but so far, this one really is my favorite. It does include potatoes (so if you are low carb or are paleo or of the mind that potatoes aren’t paleo, then this recipe is not for you). I got this recipe from Blue Apron. I modified it a bit because I did not like some of their ingredients. I have been trying food delivery services lately as it has been easy to skip eating out when I had everything I needed for a yummy dinner right at my fingertips. I’m not seeing a jump in food budget, so this seems like a good option. If you go the Blue Apron option, Costco has gift cards ($80 for $100).

I have also been trying Home Chef. At the moment, Home Chef is my favorite. Home Chef has some of their ingredients prepped a bit more, and they are also much more modifiable for those with food restrictions  (no dairy, gluten, soy, low carb…) They also have WAY more menu options for any given week. If you want to give Home Chef a try, you can get $30 off your first order with this link Home Chef $30 off. Right now, I am leaning towards Home Chef because of the variety of recipes and ease. The 2 person serving size at Home Chef feeds our family of three, so it is ideal for us. Their app is also great on my phone. I can cancel delivery for the upcoming week, can change menu selections, can change delivery dates. It’s pretty convenient, and it really would work well for people who don’t have time to menu plan, shop for ingredients, and do a lot of prep for cooking.

I know that Sunbasket is another food delivery service that seems to have great quality organics as well, but it was the most expensive of the three.

This recipe says “serves 2”, but it easily served 3.

Ingredients:

  • 4 eggs
  • 1 ounce pea shoots, finely chopped
  • 1 plum tomato, cored and diced
  • 3/4 lb yukon gold potatoes, small dice
  • 1 large bunch parsley, roughly chopped
  • 2 Tbsp tomato paste
  • 1 tsp Za’atar
  • 1 shallot, peeled and diced
  • 1/2 cup crumbled feta cheese
  • avocado oil (or other paleo fat)

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

In an oven safe, nonstick pan, heat 2 tsp olive oil over medium-high heat until hot. Add potatoes, and season with salt and pepper. Cook, stirring occasionally, 7-9 minutes, or until browned and slightly tender. Transfer to bowl and wipe out the pan.

Heat 2 tsp oil over medium-high heat. Add shallot, season with salt and pepper, and cook for 2-4 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add tomato paste, and season with salt and pepper. Cook, stirring frequently, 1-3 minutes, or until dark red.

Add tomato, potatoes, 2/3 of parsley, za’atar, and 1 1/4 cups of water to the pan. Season with salt and pepper. Cook, stirring occasionally 6-8 minutes, or until thickened.

Turn off the heat, and stir in pea shoots. Create 4 wells in the center of the pan of finished sauce. Crack an egg into each one and cook 6-8 minutes or until eggs are set to your liking. Let cool for 2 minutes and top with cheese. Garnish with remaining parsley.

 

 

Leave a comment